Striped Bass Fishing Forums Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:bigcry: Hello to all who read this. I live in western Massachusetts and 2-3 times a year I fish plum Island with my son. We fish for stripers. I will be there Sunday. i am the guy with the ice fishing basket. I fish with an open faced reel and a 12 ft. rod. I find casting far out to be difficult. I am not good at gripping the line with my index finger so I use my index finger and my middle finger to grip the line while casting. O ccasionally I get a good cast but mostly the line slips and my bait goes ker-plunk in front of me. Does anyone know of a reel that does the holding for you.? Like-you push a button on the windup and then release it on the cast. I have searched in magazines but none of the advertised reels talk about casting in this manner.

·
LunkHead
1,081 Posts
Do a search for a device called a Breakaway, mounts near the reel to hold the line till your ready to fire, and let 'er rip.....never tried one, but they look like they would work.

Ed

·
King of Eels
4,227 Posts
Phild,

A 12' meat stick is hard for anyone to handle without alot of practice, a 10'er would be lighter and eaiser, you also may consider learning how to use conventional tackle, htat requires only an educated thumb, and most of the new mag reels allow even a novice to cast like a pro in short order...

Now the fishing, Plum Island is my home, long cast are rarely needed there especialy at night, the reservation beach is giving up the best fish at this time,the main beach may even be closed again this weekend due to debris and polluted water from the last set of rains,...

Most of my bass are in 3-5' of water somethoing attainable with even a lob cast, when I fish the beach by boat , I ride the last curl of the wave, often times casting onto the sand, the majority of my strikes come as the bait enters the water...

·
I had a BLAST!
2,429 Posts