Striped Bass Fishing Forums Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Hi, guys. I have been an avid fisherman for over 50 years. For the last 30 years or so, I have been using a 7’ or 7’6” spinning rod (currently a 7’6” St. Croix Tidemaster) paired with several different spinning reels (12-pound mono to 20-pound braid) to catch fluke, striped bass, blackfish, blue fish, weakfish, drum, snook, jacks, barracuda, red snapper, etc., from Block Island and East End (mostly Shelter Island) of LI, down the east coast (mostly Jersey shore) to the Outer Banks and Florida, as well as Mexico, Belize, and Costa Rica. I’ve been lucky to have caught some fish, and much enriched by the wonderful experiences I’ve had and the people whom I’ve met.

I am only relating this to explain that I am not a novice fisherman; however, I am not particularly knowledgeable about the latest developments in surf (spin fishing) tackle.

If possible, I would like to buy one rod whose sweet spot will cover most of the bases and would still be useful for other types of fishing from the surf. Obviously, if this is unrealistic, and if any rod would still have some deficiencies, I would add a second rod to cover the remaining bases. (Please don’t tell me that two rods won’t cover at least 90% of the lures and types of fishing from the shorelines of NJ and NY. That would be disheartening.)

Does anyone know of a chart that provides rod length, action, and strength with specific classes/types of lures? For example, is a fast action rod desirable/needed for a particular type of lure but horrible with a different type? Would a rod that is suitable for pencil popping be appropriate for all plugging? Is it absolutely true that longer rod lengths are required for longer casts? And wouldn’t a shorter, lighter outfit be more pleasant to use over many hours of casting compared to a longer, heavier one?