Striped Bass Fishing Forums Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Lunker
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! everyone:

It's a new season and it's time to buy a new reel.
I have narrowed it down to the Cabo or Stratic. I was told that the Cabo can be dunked in saltwater without any problems but the Stratic will have problems if it is dunked?

what do you guys think, I am new to the surf fishing bug only been at it a year. the Cabo sells for around $190 & the Stratic for $160. So their is very little difference in price.

thanks,

danny

· Lunker
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
stella

Hey Marko you are totally correct but I am not looking to spend almost $600 on the Stella reel. Maybe when I have more experience in surf fishing I will look at the Stella or Van Staal.

thanks for thr responses guys, my local bait & tackle store swears the Cabo is great for surf fishing. he went to his car & showed me his reel it is a Cabo & he said he can use any reel even a Van Staal but prefers the Cabo.

danny

· Lunker
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Cabo

I ordered the Cabo from my local bait & tackle store. A better price than the online vendors & he will spool the reel. I pick it up saturday, I feel like a kid in a candy store.

thanks,

Danny

· Lunker
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Cabo PT

I picked up the Cabo PT60 reel, looks like a great reel. My local bait & tackle shop spooled it with braided line. Since I paid in cash he spooled for free. Lucky420 I hope it will last me a little longer than yours, keeping the fingers crossed. I was trying to be good & not spend alot on a reel but when my wife came home from a cosmetic party & told me she just spent over $200 for make-up then I felt that $200 for a reel was reasonable. One thing I know this reel will last longer than her make-up. Now if she does it again then it is time to spend money on a lamiglass surf rod. If I am going to be broke I might as well get something out of it. Ha Ha

danny

· Lunker
43 Posts