Striped Bass Fishing Forums Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi and happy to find this forum

I am new to surfcasting. Have a small rental cottage on the ocean side of outer Cape Cod (Wellfleet). Picked up some gear at a garage sale last summer and tried it out this July. Not such good results but what do you expect when you buy two rods and reels for $20. Also very poor fishing conditions in July with hot clear days and little wind. I am hoping for better (fishing) conditions when I return to Wellfleet in October to close the cottage for the winter. ( I live in Denver.)

My fishing mentor (who I met at a tackle shop a few years ago) suggested I look for a Daiwa Eliminator surf rod and Penn 704 reel. I have been able to snag this Daiwa Eliminator on e*bay:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/221252759324?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649

and am biddng on another:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/181179711433?ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1431.l2649

There are a lot of Penn 704z's listed and am pretty certain I can get one in the $50-$75 range in good working order.

I would like to have a rod (or maybe two) for bait (10-11') and another shorter
rod (8-9') for plugging.

Any suggestions on my shopping list? Alternatives to the Daiwa Eliminator rod? I have read good stuff about the Penn 704's but haven't found as much about the Daiwa.

Thanks for your suggestions.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you Jake.

Any suggestions on another rod I might look to bid on in the $50 -$75 range? I used a Daiwa Eliminator and liked it, but I think they made a bunch of them in that line and hard to tell from some of these eBay listings which are for surf casting and which are for trolling or fresh water.

·
Premium Member
5,895 Posts
I don't have any recommendations in that price range, sorry. I used a number of cheapo rods like that when I was first getting started, and they all sucked.