Striped Bass Fishing Forums Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone had experience using the 12" Sluggo? Is it rigged the same as 9" (Mckenna style with two hooks joined with dacron)? Does it need to be weighted? How is it fished? Also your thoughts regarding the color. I fish mostly off the shore.

tight lines to you all

·
Registered
144 Posts
i've been using the 12" sluggo for a few months,rigged the same as the 9" with no weight add [its 2 3/4oz] i fish mostly at nite so its black for me,nothing but bluefish so far i'm holding off till the thin out.i think its going to work aewsome in the sud this fall slow behind a wave,will see.good luck with them.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply. I think your right about not adding weight. Still havent used the 12". I had good luck so far with the 9" eel skin color. Fish them off rocks through daybreak. Had to glue a few of them back together, most worked fine after and saved a few bucks.

·
Internet Academy
324 Posts
I prefer the 9" myself, and I like to fish them with no weight. You can fish a sluggo many different ways, no weight as a top water or tidal waters(hold on to your rod) , carolina rig (great off the beach) , broom stick rig (great for rocky areas) , rigged on a jig head (great of the beach or in tidal waters)

You can use 2 hooks on a sluggo but I prefer only 1 hook I feel the 2 hooks takes away from the proper action of the sluggo.

·
LunkerSpunker
446 Posts
The sluggo usually gets split for me when a bass nails it, so last weekend I whipped out a lighter and heated it up, squeezed it back together and pinched it with the material as it melted and it fused right back together, then just heated it up again to smooth it and it's good as new.

·
Official Member
12 Posts