Help w/ quality leader - Stripers247.com Forums

Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > MAIN FORUM DISCUSSION > Stripers 101 - The Beginners clinic.
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Stripers 101 - The Beginners clinic. Saltwater and freshwater surfcasting. Plugging, Bait dunking and boating

Old 04-27-2010, 01:18 AM
Official Member

Default Help w/ quality leader

I make my own slider rigs and I've been using "Jeros Tackle" leader. I bought it a few years back cause I that's all the shop had and I needed it. I've been using it because I don't like to waste things but I'm definitely ready to throw it in the trash where it belongs. It's 30lb w/ 0.70 mm diameter. High memory and worst of all the knots are horrible.

The only brand of 50 yard mono they had at Dick's was "Ande" which I've never used before. Any opinions?

Also if you guys could list your preferred leaders. Mono in the 30-40lb range. Some links of stores w/ good prices would be appreciated too.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-27-2010, 02:22 AM

Default Re: Help w/ quality leader

Jeros is the lowest quality stuff you can buy

Ande is fine, I use it myself.
I'm also a big fan of Triplefish, both mono and Flouro
Old 04-27-2010, 08:19 AM
Old Salt
Pro Staff

your obviously chunking so use fluorocarbon leader as it is not entirely necessary but will be more resistant to abrasion and will not be seen as readily in clear water. yo-zuri hybrid. (30# braid - 25# leader.)...( 50# braid - 30# leader)... (65# braid 40# maybe 50# leader).... if using mono then most of the time doesn't matter. but, i'd pair leader material with the same brand mono just cuz it makes knots better as sometimes one line will tie to fluoro horribly. "in a case with seagar and an unnamed mono" (i don't wan't any backlash from mentioning it). seems i get straightened out alot on this forum (like perhaps now?).