River Herring Adoption/ Restoration project - Stripers247.com Forums

Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > Striper Information & Services > Striped Bass Fishery Conservation / Politics / Management / News
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Striped Bass Fishery Conservation / Politics / Management / News Public Access / Politics/ Permits / Conservation Management / News

Old 03-08-2007, 05:13 PM

Default River Herring Adoption/ Restoration project

Hi all!

My name is Holly and I am a graduate student working on an MS under Dr. Martha Mather in the Wildlife and Fisheries Conservation program, within the Department of Natural Resources Conservation at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. We're studying river herring restoration in coastal Massachusetts streams as their populations have experienced recent severe declines. River herring are an important forage fish for many recreationally prized marine and freshwater fish and are essential for the ecological health of these systems.

While our focus is on the Ipswich River in northeastern Massachusetts, our study will produce useful information applicable to many rivers throughout
Massachusetts.

In 2006, we radio-tagged 60 river herring, using both stocked fish from the Nemasket River in Southeastern MA and fish caught moving naturally upstream in the Ipswich River. We were able to track the movements of these radio-tagged fish by using stationary receivers located throughout the river. In 2007, we will be tagging river herring from both rivers again, and we wondered anyone from Stripers 247 (individually or as a group) would like to help us purchase a radio-tag to improve our study.