Help for a new guy - Stripers247.com Forums

Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > MAIN FORUM DISCUSSION > Boaters Forum > Kayaking Stripers
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Kayaking Stripers A forum for the YAK'rs out there.

Old 07-18-2010, 12:17 PM
Official Member

Default Help for a new guy

Hi, all
I'm relatively new to kayak fishing, just got started at the end of last summer with a Yak. I fish in Buzzards Bay (near Cape Cod) and have been out for about 15 hours this year. So far, though, I've only gotten two stripers, both in the same day and both around 20 inches. Nothing spectacular. I have a 6.5' rod with a Shimano Baitrunner reel that works great. I haven't tried live bait yet but I've use a 5" Atom popper (used this for the two fish), a spoon, and the Storm Wildeye Shad swim baits. I've been using a wire leader as there are lots of bluefish around (not that I would know).
The spots I've been fishing were recommended to me by other fishermen and my guy at the bait shop but the real lack of fish has been kind of disappointing.
Anybody have ideas about what I could do to catch more stripers? Or is it normal to catch two fish in fifteen hours?
Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-18-2010, 04:00 PM
Striper Hunter
Pro Staff

Default Re: Help for a new guy

Lose the wire. It kills the action of the lures. If your concerned about bluefish use 50#-80# flourocarbon leader depending if they're cocktails or gorillas.
Old 07-20-2010, 12:30 AM
Striper Hunter

I totally agree....definitely stay away from wire leaders. A heavy mono/flourocarbon leader will do just fine, and it's worth taking the chance on the big blues.