bail snaps shut on Shimano 6000 - Stripers247.com Forums

Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > MAIN FORUM DISCUSSION > Surfcasting Central
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Surfcasting Central A forum for Rockhoppers, Sandmen, Beachbuggies, etc.

Old 08-23-2014, 10:38 AM
Striper Hunter

Default bail snaps shut on Shimano 6000

I lost another plug this morning using a Shimano when the bail snapped
down during the cast. The bail spring is strong so I can't figure out
what I am doing wrong. Anybody have any advice or suggestions? Other than that it is a smooth reel so I would like to solve the problem. I am using 30 lb mono shock leader with 50 lb Pro braid
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-25-2014, 01:54 PM
First Mate

Default Re: bail snaps shut on Shimano 6000

I had a reel that did that on occasion. I graduated up out of that one without fixing it, but while I was using it I did notice that sometimes the bail wouldn't definitively click locked open, it would just kind of snug (still pretty solidly) into place. On mine I imagined that the locking mechanism was a little dirty, corroded or otherwise gummed up. Is there something preventing the bail from being easily completely opened to lock it... exterior gunk/corrosion where the bail pivots? Option 3, the auto engage (where when you start to crank and it trips the bail into reel position) may be too easily triggered. Bumping the handle during casting, or just extra momentum may cause it to trip. Some guys non mechanical fix of this is to open the bail for casting and then manually twist the free slack out of the bail so that you're not getting movement in the bail during the cast where the reel thinks you've started the retrieve already.
Old 08-25-2014, 02:06 PM
First Mate

Option 4 Is that the bail got bumped at some point and is bent.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement