Oregon Striper fisherman need help - Stripers247.com Forums

Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > Sweetwater Stripers > Interior States and Landlocked Striper Forums > Oregon
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Old 05-01-2009, 02:18 AM

Default Oregon Striper fisherman need help

Ok here is the DEAL! I'm completely new to fishing for stripers that come from salt water to fresh water to spawn i was raised in southern California and grew up fishing on the Colorado river for catfish and small and largemouth bass and we would occasionally catch a stripper while fishing.They were the most awesome fish i have ever caught . Butt i could never target them with the other species around.Now i live in Oregon (Eugene) and steelhead is king here for fight butt i know a striper is equal or more so in fight equal to its weight.I have talked to many ah people about this fish and all have little or no knowledge of how,when, or where to catch them.I have read alot on this forum and went to fish the smith this last week for stripers and had no success, no hits,except for one bullhead catfish we caught on a cut Herring and that was it any help would be appreciated we are fishing from the mouth of the north fork of the smith down stream to the nearest boat launch we were using cut Herring and seven inch rapalas all night and had no takes except the catfish please spread the knowledge thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-01-2009, 07:59 AM
Pro Staff

Default Re: Oregon Striper fisherman need help

Hi there! Sorry,, I'm not at all familiar with your area, but did want to welcome you to the site! Be sure to check out the threads in the Stripers 101 forum as there's a ton of info there for the reading that can apply where ever you might be fishing.
Old 05-04-2009, 09:38 AM
drilltrash

Default Re: Oregon Striper fisherman need help