landing the big one - Stripers247.com Forums

Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > MAIN FORUM DISCUSSION > Surfcasting Central
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Surfcasting Central A forum for Rockhoppers, Sandmen, Beachbuggies, etc.

Old 12-04-2009, 04:07 PM

Default landing the big one

Hey guys I'm new to board but not fishing. born and raised in mosquito lagoon(Merritt island,fl ) with red/black drum snook tarpon etc.. Ive moved to long island(oyster bay area) NY about 3 years ago new too this northern fishing techniques. well safe to say ,i catch on avg 20 striper a month when i have time after work. the last 3 months i was catching 5-10 a day, fishing 3 times weekly,best day was Nov weekend(jets halftime) i caught 33 stripers 1 1/2 hours fish time.. sizes range 25-34... Now Ive been having loads of fun with these stripers but nothing with major size.. now ill tell you what i fish -its behind my house is the beach, theres about 100 yards of rocks and boulders then there sandbars after the rocks that i found walking around with my waders.. the boulders are closer to shore and gets smaller as it leads out.. i fish on low tides ,the changing tides and high tides(most of the time.. i tried using bunker chunks never had any luck. but most of my luck has been coming from bombers and sometimes top water . i buy the blue/blacktop and silver reflecting bomber then i paint the head red..
Does anyone have any suggestions on landing or finding the big boys at these conditions.. on low tide i take pictures of my surrounding area so at night i know where to toss my plugs because i have 4 (about 50 yards of boulders each)jetties that i walk up and down to fish. any lil tips hints on different lures or tricks of the trade..

rob

pics coming soon
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-04-2009, 04:21 PM
Striper Hunter

Default Re: landing the big one