Delaware Saltwater Fishing License
Delaware has approved a Saltwater Fishing License starting next year. Talk about complications, New Jersey boats will now either buy an out of state license or keep on the Jersey side of the bay, and it gets tricky up in the mouth of the river and bay as to where the dividing point is. Some river areas are considered all Delawares under an old law.
The license, good for both fresh and saltwater is $8.50 for residents and $20.00 for non residents.
There is a lot of places to fish in the bay but Delaware has more than its share of "honey holes" that produce fish when the rest of the Bay is dead.
Federal law soon coming.
By 2009 all saltwater fishermen must be registered (all ages) and by 2011 there will be a fee for this.(Federal law, Magnuson-Stevens Act)
All fishing license revenue will go to the Division of Fish and Wildlife for fishing-related projects and cannot be diverted.