Trolling in the Rip - Stripers247.com Forums

Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > MAIN FORUM DISCUSSION > Boaters Forum > Trolling for Stripers
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Trolling for Stripers How tos - instruction - Downriggers Planer boards - gear and other techniques and tips

Old 10-02-2005, 09:36 AM

Default Trolling in the Rip

I'm new to trolling and haven't been successful so far, but I'm catching all the fluke I want and bluefish. Stripers are another matter. Yes, I'm obsessed, I'll admit it. I'm out on Cape Cod and the Islands and the water here varies so much. I've got my trolling speed down, but the choice of lures has not been successful thus far. I'm using red tubes with a matching red pork rind, hitting the rips two hours after high tide. No fish yet, but I'm determined. Any ideas? Many thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-02-2005, 01:20 PM

I'm not sure of the types of rips you're writing about, but here in RI for instance, the rips of Block Island are fished best by drifting over the structure and bouncing an offering along the bottom or vertical jigging. Trolling is generally best for bluefish in those areas.

If you are trolling a tube, it might be better tipped with seaworm instead of porkrind.
Old 10-02-2005, 08:06 PM
King of Eels
Pro Staff

I only have first hand knowledge of Wasque and the Sow and pigs,both can be trolled with tube and worm or jigs, standard is 300' of Monel wire at least 50 lb test 60 is better, and as Roger stated use a worm on the tube, save the pork for the jig... The Sow and pigs can be trolled at night with large swimming plugs, like Stan gibbs, Danny's,Pikie or goo-goo eyes, but this is best left for those that know the reef and all it's Quirks... both places are dangerous during the day, but deadly at night....