New to striper, fish off rocks on Jersey shore - Stripers247.com Forums

Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > East Coast Regional Forums > New Jersey
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

New Jersey Regional discussion, news and reports for striped bass fishing in New Jersey

Old 07-12-2005, 03:05 PM

Default New to striper, fish off rocks on Jersey shore

Hello

I am just getting into striper fishing. I fish off of rocks in South Jersey, but I'm sure I am missing some important know-how.

I just bought a Tsunami TS Talkin Popper. Has anyone ever tried it, and is it good for striper fishing?

What are your favorite lures when fishing near rocks?

Any advice you can offer would be appreciated!

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-12-2005, 05:36 PM
First Mate

welcome...im sure someone will chime in from ur area...
Old 07-12-2005, 07:22 PM

Hi Mike.

Im sure that popper will work great when the fish are busting the surface. i personally would use the sardine/bunker pattern color or the electro pearl ones.
I would highly recommend a book written by capt Jim freda and sold through amazon.com called fishing the New jersey coast. It is a wealth of info on what, when, where, and how along the Coast. Including the jetty or beach head you are fishing and what works best there. If your fishing a jetty fish the tip that way you have 180 degrees to plug. Bucktails with a fins trailer work great. A search of striped bass in amazon brings up 436 books. Put in the search term Jim Freda. Striper Fishing Books at Amazon.com

It would also be wise to invest in a pair of corkers for the slippery rocks. You can easily break your neck. I seen it happen to a guy and he had to be medivacked out.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-12-2005, 08:13 PM

Thanks guys! Jim, I will definately look into that book.