where is the POWER in power pro?? - Stripers247.com Forums
 
Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > Equipment & Tackle --- How To / Do It Yourself Forums > Saltwater Tackle Shop
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Saltwater Tackle Shop Product testing. Terminal tackle and gear forum. This forum is here to help the new and experienced angler in making good decision's when purchasing new gear. Talk about rods, reels, lures etc. here. List tackle or gear that you have experience with so that we may encourage others to try. Index of tackle dealers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 09-12-2004, 05:18 PM
gfd1957 gfd1957 is offline
Official Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: long island n.y.
Posts: 8
Default

hi tiderunner
i too had some bad luck with powerpro,i was using #20 ,great at first.after about 20 trips it started breaking for no good reason.im breaking it off on cocktails.thought they were biting it off at first,then went to cast,loaded the rod & it broke by the stripper guide.in my opinion its garbage,im back to fireline.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-12-2004, 03:31 PM
Jigman's Avatar
Jigman Jigman is offline
Jigologist
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Maine
Posts: 472
Default

I've personally had very good luck with powerpro in 20# 30# and 50#... I've converted all my striper rigs to PP from fireline... I've heard of people having breaking trouble with PP and they did have a problem for a while... as with ANY braid or fused line, give it something sharp and your all done....
what I've learned to do is: check hookeyes for burrs, rod guides for cracks etc... inspect the last few feet after each fish for gillplate damage.. retie if even remotely questionable..

to inspect your line for problems tie one end to something solid, say your bumper in a big parking lot or field or whatever.. put some pressure on it, really test it out with a straight pull, if it busts somewhere in the middle, you have either damaged it in the rocks or it's a bad spool of line.. check it thuroughly for abrasions or bad spots.... when it breaks it should break at the knot...

also be sure to use polamar knots... braids won't hold clinch type knots.. they will slip right apart... offshore knot works well and takes a good beating.. that's about the only other knot besides the polamar that I would trust..

what I like about PP is it's thin diameter and it stays thin and round.. fireline tends to frey and affects the free-fall of my jigs.. to me jigging is all about using the lightest jig possible for a particular spot.. with FL frizzies, I have to upsize a jig to get the same fall-rate... me no like that..
__________________
Beware the "sneak attack"!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-15-2004, 10:16 PM
JackD818 JackD818 is offline
Lunker
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Duxbury MA
Posts: 37
Default

How often do you have to change braided line like XDS?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old 10-15-2004, 11:24 PM
merrillizer's Avatar
merrillizer merrillizer is offline
The Poacher Poacher - I poach poachers
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hampton, NH Marshland
Posts: 4,759
Default

Fireline and Fireline XDS arent braids. They are "thermal filament" superlines. I used to change the normal Fireline once a year. But they have come out with a newer version of Fireline that is smoother and less likely to fray. As far as Fireline XDS goes, its a totally different make up than normal Fireline. I would have to say that it will last considerably longer.



Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-16-2004, 01:06 PM
Jigman's Avatar
Jigman Jigman is offline
Jigologist
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Maine
Posts: 472
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackD818
How often do you have to change braided line like XDS?
don't know about XDS cuz is hasn't been around very long, everybody is different. I've gone two seasons with fireline after flipping it around on the spool... I'm a full season into powerpro now and it's fine, no freys, still round, still rugged...

you have to inspect it for damage and change or cut back as you see fit.. flip it over on the spool and it's all new again :D no matter what line you have ... 'cept mono... where age is a factor..

I also fish prolly 200 days a year, worn out new reels in half a season.. when I used mono, I'd respool once week sometimes more... braid saved me a pile of money..
__________________
Beware the "sneak attack"!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-27-2004, 01:13 AM
Chinookhead Chinookhead is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 172
Default PP

I'm definitely sold on PP, at least for my baitcasting set-ups. It's made my set-up usable for surf and shore. I use a 7'6 heavy action flippin stik with an abu 6500C. I use to use this set-up in Lake St.Clair trolling for muskies and flipping big plugs along the channels and I used 25# mono and with a big plug I could cast it at max 60 feet (all I needed). When I came here, NYC, I needed a temporary surf set-up and I switched to 30# PP and I can cast it an easy 60 yards with a 3-6oz. fish finder/ bunker rig and this is without any sort of power cast--just a regular overhand cast with increasing speed (a power cast with my frozen bunker from Kapital results in fish bait). I'm getting far fewer backlashes and i have only lost one set-up (on a snag). Next year, I'll see how it performs on my new surf spinning set-ups.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-01-2008, 04:49 PM
Striperjim's Avatar
Striperjim Striperjim is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 4,316
Default Re: where is the POWER in power pro??

Quote:
Originally Posted by gfd1957 on 09-12-2004
great at first after about 20 trips it started breaking for no good reason. in my opinion its garbage
4 years later and not much has changed.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-15-2008, 06:15 PM
GunnySniper GunnySniper is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,559
Default Re: where is the POWER in power pro??

Funny, I was going to start a thread about how much I hate this crap.
After all my weekend plans for fishing went to hell in a hand basket, I decided to test a few new plug designs in the lake. So I tie on a nice new swimmer design that I have yet to see anything similar out there. I Pay out a few yards and swim the plug at my feet, nice wobble, no roll and the tail wag is tight. In other words it's doing exactly what I was hoping for. So I'm going to cast it out to check it out on an actual retrieve. I wind up and let it rip. Thirty yards out, for no apparent reason the line just parts, no snap, no pop, just parts like it got cut in mid air with a knife.
Junk, Garbage, and a total waste of money.
I'm tired of losing plugs to this stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-15-2008, 10:10 PM
cheech43's Avatar
cheech43 cheech43 is offline
First Mate
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: S.I., NY
Posts: 571
Default Re: where is the POWER in power pro??

Its a good thing I never got that stuff. Believe me, I don't need another reason/excuse why I can't catch a striper, I got enough already!
__________________
Law of Probability--The probability of being watched is directly proportional to the stupidity of your act.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-15-2008, 11:27 PM
The Point's Avatar
The Point The Point is offline
Cow Catcher
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: On a Rock in The Water in the Darkness.
Posts: 937
Default Re: where is the POWER in power pro??

FIRELINE
__________________
"My biggest worry is that my wife (when I'm dead) will sell my fishing gear for what I said I paid for it."
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-15-2008, 11:28 PM
The Point's Avatar
The Point The Point is offline
Cow Catcher
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: On a Rock in The Water in the Darkness.
Posts: 937
Default Re: where is the POWER in power pro??

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheech43 View Post
Its a good thing I never got that stuff. Believe me, I don't need another reason/excuse why I can't catch a striper, I got enough already!
LMAO don't we all..
__________________
"My biggest worry is that my wife (when I'm dead) will sell my fishing gear for what I said I paid for it."
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-16-2008, 12:22 AM
zimno1's Avatar
zimno1 zimno1 is offline
Old Salt
Pro Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: staten island
Posts: 5,926
Default Re: where is the POWER in power pro??

there is debate after debate. i had one incident in some five years where i was beffuddled about what happened and i to this day chalk it up as a bad spool. that was a few years back. i have had line on my reel for 2 seasons and it never broke. when it is new it is very slippery until you break it in. it WILL come undone at a knot if you don;t tie them right. it will cause excessive wind loops if you don;t cast right ( change from a 4oz plug to a 1 1/2 - 2oz plug and not cast appropriately to get the proper distance out and so on) or are inept at casting at all. it WILL break off if you don;t check your line for damage and it WILL snap a rod tip if you are not careful (not that you were not at the time but i can;t see that happening) so all braids are not the same is true, but all braids are tested to tensile strength/breaking and stress performance, and a series of water and heat related testing. they all claim this or that but value lies in what is tried and true for all of us. i was at the cape and i was unfortunate enough to have brought the wrong canal rod/reel as i only had 150 yds of braid on that setup and snagged bottom and lost all of it at the mono connection. so at the buzzards bay bait shop jimi4290 knows what i spooled up with there and i was never more confident. just my preference and it;s not garbage, it;s just braid and they all will fail the same somewhere down the line. mystery breakoffs are an excuse for not paying attention to detail. there, i said it! fire me~



Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-16-2008, 04:09 AM
GunnySniper GunnySniper is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,559
Default Re: where is the POWER in power pro??

So...................................................
I should just expect this crap to continue as long as I use it? No matter what brand?
For years folks have been trying to convince me that braid is the way to go. I NEVER had any of these problems with mono. If I understand what I was just belittled with, I should check my braid from end to end after every cast, looking for minute little knicks, or wind knots from my lack of casting experiance, and still expect the stuff to fail me when I need it to perform most?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-16-2008, 06:19 AM
junkmansj junkmansj is offline
Lunker
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cape May Nj "Striperland"
Posts: 68
Default Re: where is the POWER in power pro??

Been using PP for years have not had a problem till this year. I buy it 1500 yds at a time, filled my baitrunner before fishing. First cast broke,retyed caught a 12-15# sand shark line broke with fish in the wash. all total 5 times,contacted seller his answer was send it back. Waiting for the new spool. 50# test Line broke at 22# on a certified Boga. Have caught bass to 45# on it,Damm Cownose rays to over 50#
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-16-2008, 08:56 AM
jimi4290's Avatar
jimi4290 jimi4290 is offline
will work for stripers
Pro Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 2,530
Default Re: where is the POWER in power pro??

i think zims opinion may have some merit..however power pro still sucks...i watched two guys next to me have issues with it sunday morning at the canal....bryanl was there and saw it too...."mystery" break offs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
power, pro

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Pro Question Reed422 Freshwater Tackle Box 9 06-08-2010 09:09 AM
Power Pro Ok for A Penn 700? DanTheFisherman Surfcasting Central 2 05-30-2009 09:39 AM
Power pro vs. Spiderwire khary23 Freshwater Tackle Box 11 04-25-2006 09:25 PM
Is Power Pro IGFA Rated? Striperjim Saltwater Tackle Shop 1 06-19-2005 04:08 AM
power pro SomthingHUGE700s Surfcasting Central 2 01-31-2005 04:01 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2013 Stripers247.com LLC
Affiliated Sites:   Noreast.com   Allcoast.com    2coolfishing.com