Surf combo - Stripers247.com Forums

Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > MAIN FORUM DISCUSSION > Surfcasting Central
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Surfcasting Central A forum for Rockhoppers, Sandmen, Beachbuggies, etc.

Old 03-30-2009, 04:34 PM
First Mate

Default Surf combo

Hi all, I just started playing with Stripers last year.My current rod and reel set-up is just a Walmart cheapo that I picked up, as there's not much in the way of Surf type gear in my area.I also didn't know what to expect as far as my Striper success would go.I am a long ways from having it all figured out, though I managed to catch quite a few in my first season, with a good number of keepers thanks to the advice of the members here.I'm sure a few are saying "Oh no, not him again".LOL!I really got the bug bad now and would like some advice on a decent Surf Combo.All my fishing will be throwing chunks, with a 3-5 ounce weight from the surf.I'm thinking of something in the $150-200 range.Like I mentioned I'm extremely new at this with barely a season under my belt, and don't really know where to start, or if that's enough $ to purchase a decent combo.I realize I will have to order.Thanks in advance!
Advertisement

Old 03-30-2009, 05:07 PM
The Artist Formerly known as Jackbass
Pro Staff

Default Re: Surf combo

Hey Butcha for chunking look into Tica or Tsunami rods they are fairly decent and you can most likely get set up for around 100$ on the rod. For a reel you may want to look at the Shimano Bait runners. This type of set-up will most likely run you around 200 bucks. If you want to save on the reel go to a certain auction site and try and hook up with a Penn 704 that is operable. With a little elbow grease you will be in business.

Have fun and Bass Wishes
Old 03-30-2009, 05:17 PM
Banned

All answers start at the search button! Good luck this season!!