Newbie with gear questions - Stripers247.com Forums

Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > MAIN FORUM DISCUSSION > Stripers 101 - The Beginners clinic. > Shorebound - Surf Beginners
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Shorebound - Surf Beginners Information for the Shorebound angler

Old 07-21-2013, 01:03 PM
Official Member

Default Newbie with gear questions

Hi and happy to find this forum

I am new to surfcasting. Have a small rental cottage on the ocean side of outer Cape Cod (Wellfleet). Picked up some gear at a garage sale last summer and tried it out this July. Not such good results but what do you expect when you buy two rods and reels for $20. Also very poor fishing conditions in July with hot clear days and little wind. I am hoping for better (fishing) conditions when I return to Wellfleet in October to close the cottage for the winter. ( I live in Denver.)

My fishing mentor (who I met at a tackle shop a few years ago) suggested I look for a Daiwa Eliminator surf rod and Penn 704 reel. I have been able to snag this Daiwa Eliminator on e*bay:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/221252759324...84.m1439.l2649

and am biddng on another:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/181179711433...84.m1431.l2649

There are a lot of Penn 704z's listed and am pretty certain I can get one in the $50-$75 range in good working order.

I would like to have a rod (or maybe two) for bait (10-11') and another shorter
rod (8-9') for plugging.

Any suggestions on my shopping list? Alternatives to the Daiwa Eliminator rod? I have read good stuff about the Penn 704's but haven't found as much about the Daiwa.

Thanks for your suggestions.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-23-2013, 07:47 AM
Pro Staff

Default Re: Newbie with gear questions