Leader/knot Question - Stripers247.com Forums

Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > MAIN FORUM DISCUSSION > Stripers 101 - The Beginners clinic.
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Stripers 101 - The Beginners clinic. Saltwater and freshwater surfcasting. Plugging, Bait dunking and boating

Old 02-18-2008, 11:28 AM
Striper Hunter

Default Leader/knot Question

Hey all,
I'm completely new to the world of striped bass and I have a couple questions. I plan on fishing this year with 65lb braided line on a spinning reel and my questions are....
-What pound test mono should my shock leader be?
-Currently I'm experimenting with connecting my braided line to heavier/thicker mono with an albright knot, but I can see the tag ends of this potentially getting cought on the eyes of the rod upon casting. Besides trimming down as best as possible, is there a simple solution to this tag end problem that I'm just missing.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-28-2008, 05:56 PM
First Mate
Pro Staff

Default Re: Leader/knot Question

Hi, and welcome to the board.

Every one has their own technique so you'll probable get different replies. I'm lazy so when I plug I tie a three to four foot length of fluorocarbon to a spro swivel and attach that to the main line. I then tie a snap to the tag end to connect the plugs. It makes it easier to change the leader if it gets nicked. It also makes for quick lure changes.

If your useing heavy braid I don't think you really need a shock leader. What size plugs are you throwing?
Old 02-28-2008, 10:11 PM
Lunker