New striper club president asks: why should guys have all the fun? - Stripers247.com Forums

Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > Sweetwater Stripers > Interior States and Landlocked Striper Forums > Virginia's Rivers, Lakes and Impoundments
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Old 09-07-2008, 03:48 PM
Reports and Info Dude
Got a Little Captain in you?

Default New striper club president asks: why should guys have all the fun?

Roanoke Outdoors

By Bill Cochran

Club has had a woman as its president. Angie Behan has given nearly every aspect of the club a new twist and has placed major emphasis on attracting women to the club and to fishing. Here are answers to questions I asked her:

Q. How long have you been striped bass fishing, and how did you get started?
A. I have been fishing for striped bass for approximately three years; however, I have wanted to fish since I was a kid growing up on the Chesapeake Bay. We used to catch crabs off of the dock with a string and chicken neck. My brothers were the net men. We would catch a basketful and my mom would steam them up with Old Bay. There is nothing that entices me more than the small of Old Bay -- it must be in the blood. I learned to fish from two good friends from Franklin County. My father was a deep-sea fisherman who fished all over the world, but I haven’t reached that point yet. I have a boyfriend who does not fish.
Q. When did you join the Smith Mountain Striper Club and how long have you been the president?
A. I joined in 2006 after hearing about the club through the grapevine, and wanted to meet people who shared my love of fishing and being on the water. I have made many lifelong friends in this club. My circle of friends has increased tenfold since joining this very unique and dynamic club. We are like a big family. The board of directors elected me as president in November.