Striped Bass Fishing Forums Forum banner

That Darn Cape Cod Canal!!

7K views 9 replies 9 participants last post by  dave3701 
#1 ·
OK, I'm new at surfcasting but not totally clueless,I like the cape cod canal cause it's easy for me to get to and it's not that far away and besides my friend lives near there,So here's my problem. I often hear that fishing at night into early morning is best,But I also hear about West Side and East Side,Slack tides,"Watch for the white water" "Fish the rips" "Go at high tide" and "Watch the Current" What does all this mean? And most importantly How do I know all this BEFORE I waste a 1/4 gas of $3 gas?
Here's what I'd like to do, Is drift chunks basically but at the same time I was told to get Fresh Pogies...Everytime I make a cast the bait just makes a 180 degree turn to the shore,or get hung up on the rocks and lose my rigs and my mind.I don't know where else to surfcast without making a hike up to plum island (I live in Fall River) So the Canal would be perfect for me since it's not too far away,but I'm getting frustrated with it..Besides how am I suppose to get fresh bait from the bait shop if the close at 7pm for a 3am fishing trip? Thanx for any help.

#7 ·