How to spool braid? - Page 2 - Stripers247.com Forums
 
Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > MAIN FORUM DISCUSSION > Stripers 101 - The Beginners clinic.
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Stripers 101 - The Beginners clinic. Saltwater and freshwater surfcasting. Plugging, Bait dunking and boating


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #16  
Old 04-24-2009, 07:33 PM
zapper zapper is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: How to spool braid?

Model: CV6000
Capacity: 225yds / 16lb
Gear Ratio: 5.2:1
Weight: 18.1 oz
thats the penn reel i am going to have it spooled for me but my question still stands that if i need to get more line it seems that they only sell 110 yards/spool do i join the new spool to the old ala the albright knot ?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #17  
Old 04-24-2009, 11:51 PM
zimno1's Avatar
zimno1 zimno1 is offline
Old Salt
Pro Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: staten island
Posts: 5,926
Default Re: How to spool braid?

A.> the captiva is a piece of s#@t!
B. spider "anything" sucks!
C. any other braid you use ie; power pro/fireline/etc. have 300 yd spools.
the 150 yd spool may fit that reel with backing but am sure most of the 300 yds of 30# will fit with like 10 yds of backing mono.
D. if it's too late to regroup and get a decent reel the thing to remember with that reel is not to lean on the handle while fighting a fish "it WILL break". set the drag at 17-20# and never touch the bail knob again as it you play with it too much it will strip and render the reel useless.



Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-24-2009, 11:58 PM
zapper zapper is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: How to spool braid?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zimno1 View Post
A.> the captiva is a piece of s#@t!
B. spider "anything" sucks!
C. any other braid you use ie; power pro/fireline/etc. have 300 yd spools.
the 150 yd spool may fit that reel with backing but am sure most of the 300 yds of 30# will fit with like 10 yds of backing mono.
D. if it's too late to regroup and get a decent reel the thing to remember with that reel is not to lean on the handle while fighting a fish "it WILL break". set the drag at 17-20# and never touch the bail knob again as it you play with it too much it will strip and render the reel useless.
well thats what i get for asking a sales clerk what to buy >.> oh well live and learn i guess i should have known better just wish i found this site befor i bought it but ok ill see if i can return it and try to get a better setup was kinda limited to dicks sporting goods for a place to get one but so far im off to a great start woohoo
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #19  
Old 05-03-2009, 07:39 PM
FastFred FastFred is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: How to spool braid?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zimno1 View Post
where are you fishing with only 150 yds of braid?
From my boat, in 9 feet of water. If it takes me more than 150yds to whoop a bass, I need to take up golf. BTW, I'm NOT just catching rats.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-03-2009, 07:58 PM
zimno1's Avatar
zimno1 zimno1 is offline
Old Salt
Pro Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: staten island
Posts: 5,926
Default Re: How to spool braid?

from a boat sure. from the beach with 30# braid? at least 75 to 100 yds (well, a good caster or fishing in the canal) are damn near out of the spool already. ya can get em to the boat fast freddy? hense the name.. lol. but considering what he bought i am 99% sure he's fishing from shore. i feel bad i said it was a piece of crap but it will do the job as long as the few corrupt mechanical issues are addressed and prevented from happening. that said, stick with power pro or fireline as spiderwire will not last long and it's abrasion resistence is third rate imo.



Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 05-04-2009, 12:42 AM
FastFred FastFred is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: How to spool braid?

Well, the point I was making was more or less directed at his question: "How to spool braid?". I offered my method, which I think is the best way, and doesn't waste any expensive braid. If 150yds is not enough for the type of fishing then that's not my decision. I'm not familiar with that model reel. If I were to use a larger reel that might hold 300 yds or so, then I would go that route, but the method would still be the same.

Do I get 'em to the boat fast??? Sometimes. But unlike surf fishing, I have the option of chasing them down if I need to, and keeping the distance between me and the fish less than 450'.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-04-2009, 02:54 PM
Sudsy's Avatar
Sudsy Sudsy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: On the Hook, NJ
Posts: 3,471
Default Re: How to spool braid?

Quote:
Originally Posted by FastFred View Post
Well, the point I was making was more or less directed at his question: "How to spool braid?". I offered my method, which I think is the best way, and doesn't waste any expensive braid.
150 yard spools are fine for many applications
300 yard spools are geared more to surf casting situations where you may be throwing 150 yards.

I agree with the way you spool, I do it almost the same way. The only difference is that I use empty line spools to remove the line

Quoted from an old post :

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sudsy View Post
There's one sure way to get it right every time, but it's a royal PIA to do.

Use a small bit of tape to start the braid onto the spool and wind on the entire spool of braid, or, if it's a bulk spool, wind to the point where you'll need to attach the mono backing. Attach the mono that you'll be using for backing (I use 40#) and fill the spool to the top.

Slide a large empty plastic line spool onto a bolt and tighten it down with a nut. I keep a few empty spools just for this. If you don't have any go check with your local tackle shop, they often have a few lying around that they'll give you.

Put this onto a drill and spin all the line onto the spool

Get another spool, do the nut and bolt thing and spin the line off the first spool and onto the second - the mono backing should be on top now

Tie the mono backing onto the reel spool and wind it on be sure to keep a bit of pressure on, but not too much.

Perfect every time
__________________
"I just wanta play everyday despite small nagging injuries --
and go home to a woman who appreciates how full of crap I truly am"..... Crash Davis
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-17-2009, 09:56 PM
jojo82 jojo82 is offline
Official Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: How to spool braid?

I am planning spooling my reel with braided line I have a quantum cabo 60 and a tsunami air wave 10.

I fish jersey shore beaches, plugging and bait fishing.

What braded line do I get , brand, color?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-17-2009, 10:28 PM
zimno1's Avatar
zimno1 zimno1 is offline
Old Salt
Pro Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: staten island
Posts: 5,926
Default Re: How to spool braid?

you don't have to post this question multiple times....
i answered it in one of the other posts you made... i would delete this one but the big cheese got mad the last time i did that.. "oh wait" i can't delete things any more! some made sure of that:



Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-18-2009, 07:35 PM
Striperjim's Avatar
Striperjim Striperjim is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 4,316
Default Re: How to spool braid?

Quote:
Originally Posted by babyhuey
"oh wait" i can't delete things any more! some made sure of that:
Giving you total delete privaledges would be like letting your kid play with matches and gas can. The big fat cheese told you that the entire thread was deleted not the post.
But [insert sigh here] Ill remedy that for you.
Now you may delete posts again Mr cwy baby


Edit** You can delete posts Paulie - all moderators can - I had the permissions set so that entire threads cant be deleted. Only supermods and admins can do that.



https://www.stripers247.com/phpBB2/sh...ad.php?t=16925
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-13-2009, 06:23 PM
NYCBassMan's Avatar
NYCBassMan NYCBassMan is offline
Lunker
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: staten island new york
Posts: 467
Default Re: How to spool braid?

Quote:
Originally Posted by striperjim View Post
Giving you total delete privaledges would be like letting your kid play with matches and gas can. The big fat cheese told you that the entire thread was deleted not the post.
But [insert sigh here] Ill remedy that for you.
Now you may delete posts again Mr cwy baby


Edit** You can delete posts Paulie - all moderators can - I had the permissions set so that entire threads cant be deleted. Only supermods and admins can do that.



https://www.stripers247.com/phpBB2/sh...ad.php?t=16925

u guys bickering makes my day...Im LMFAO right now!!
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-14-2009, 01:29 AM
jerseystriper's Avatar
jerseystriper jerseystriper is offline
First Mate
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 654
Default Re: How to spool braid?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sudsy View Post
That sounds about right but keep the leader closer to 30". I normally use a leader between 36" and 40"

I'm a duolock snap fan but only after it's been modified to help keep a big fish from opening it. Here's a picture (the modified snap is on the left) and a link to the thread that explains the modification

Click image for larger version

Name:	DuolockModification.jpg
Views:	115
Size:	164.3 KB
ID:	12176

https://www.stripers247.com/phpBB2/sh...lock#post58228



Also remember braid can cut you, especially if you've been fishing wet and your fingers are pruned up and soft and you're throwing metal or big plugs. Use some kind of finger protection. Some guys use various kinds of tape, I've always had problems keeping tape on when I'm out on a rock and getting beat by waves so I use the leather finger protectors you can get at most tackle shops

Name:  LeatherCastingGuard.jpg
Views: 1274
Size:  2.3 KB
For finger protection Aquaskins and Gamakatsu have decent ones for around $15. In the past I had also modified an archery finger protector that I had, it worked very well for me as sometimes I like to grabe line w/ 2 fingers. I also had a bunch of these as I liked to shoot freehand and hardly ever used a release. Picture is not of exact type used. I also had one stitched up out of neoprene w/ hide on the tips as I like the feel better

As for snaps/clips I have modified snaps similar to Sudsy but I also like the Breakaway and Sea Striker Fastlink Clips-there is really nothing to come unsnapped (it kind of looks like a paper clip)
Attached Images
  
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-16-2009, 10:45 PM
Sudsy's Avatar
Sudsy Sudsy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: On the Hook, NJ
Posts: 3,471
Default Re: How to spool braid?

Good post

Since I posted that Duolock bit I've also gone to the BreakAway clip.
The only time I use Duolocks now is when I'm throwing things like tins that the BreakAway won't fit on.
__________________
"I just wanta play everyday despite small nagging injuries --
and go home to a woman who appreciates how full of crap I truly am"..... Crash Davis
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-19-2009, 08:53 PM
zimno1's Avatar
zimno1 zimno1 is offline
Old Salt
Pro Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: staten island
Posts: 5,926
Default Re: How to spool braid?

no i didn't read that reply yet..
thanks for reminding me though.
and no, i wuz only sayin wut i wuz not able
to do then. i won't make the same mistake twice.
i am a cwy baby though...



Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-21-2009, 08:35 AM
jerseystriper's Avatar
jerseystriper jerseystriper is offline
First Mate
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 654
Default Re: How to spool braid?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sudsy View Post
Good post

Since I posted that Duolock bit I've also gone to the BreakAway clip.
The only time I use Duolocks now is when I'm throwing things like tins that the BreakAway won't fit on.
Yeah same here, I have a few plugs that the Fastlinks won't work with. Most of them are popper type plugs, that have hollowed out noses if you know the type I speak off. Some of them I have installed a split ring on em so the clip will work.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
braid, spool

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Penn Conventional Reel Project - Help Fill in the Blanks Striperjim Reels and Reel Maintenance 13 07-23-2017 04:28 PM
Fishing with braid, a primer for the uninitiated,. richtrox View From The Beach 36 06-22-2014 10:36 PM
Braid and Mono Equivalents Striperjim Saltwater Tackle Shop 8 03-11-2012 07:09 AM
casting braid jim202000 Surfcasting Central 20 06-11-2011 10:47 PM
Splicing braid to braid? Steve/NH Saltwater Tackle Shop 17 10-18-2009 11:59 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2013 Stripers247.com LLC
Affiliated Sites:   Noreast.com   Allcoast.com    2coolfishing.com