Thru hull transducer - Stripers247.com Forums
 
Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > MAIN FORUM DISCUSSION > Boaters Forum
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Boaters Forum This forum is for boaters both fresh and saltwater. Trolling / Tips / Tactics / Maintenance


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 05-11-2008, 09:14 PM
captcal's Avatar
captcal captcal is offline
First Mate
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Littleton, MA
Posts: 347
Default Thru hull transducer

Who's got'em and what type?

Are they worth the money over the transom mounted types?

What kind of imagery does it give you? What power rating is your transducer?

Anyone have a digital sounder?

Mine is analog and wondered about what clarity the digital setup provides.

My setup is Garmin and adding the GSL-22 is a few $$hundred$$. I've
go a pretty good setup...But looking to find out what else is out there.

Is it worth it?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-16-2008, 09:36 PM
nates nates is offline
Striper Hunter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: sullivan county ny
Posts: 97
Default Re: Thru hull transducer

I have a furuno 585 with a 600 watt thru hull ducer.
Picture quality & reception, fantastic.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-17-2008, 09:23 PM
captcal's Avatar
captcal captcal is offline
First Mate
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Littleton, MA
Posts: 347
Default Re: Thru hull transducer

Thanks dude.

I wondered if i'd ever get a responce...

Who else has one?

No one else has a thru hull... Come on I can't believe that...

My transom mount is just fine but what else can I see under water.
I've seen the prices are they worth the money to see everything. Or
is it just hype?

--cal
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old 05-19-2008, 05:20 PM
JakeF's Avatar
JakeF JakeF is offline
Moderator
Pro Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Bedford, MA
Posts: 5,895
Default Re: Thru hull transducer

Cal,
Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but as long as your transom mount is positioned correctly so as to not have prop interference, I really don't think that a through-hull is really going to help you much. The primary benefit is that it's not hanging off the back of your boat, but other than that it functions just the same..... until you get into the 3D imaging spiffyness...

I use a through-hull on my kayak, and a transom mount on my boat and can't tell any difference in functionality.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-15-2008, 01:58 PM
Flyfish4bass Flyfish4bass is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Thru hull transducer

I run a Furuno FCV-620 with an Air-mar thru hull transducer. I haven't experienced signal loss even at 30 mph. I believe Air-mar makes transducers to fit most models of fishfinders.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
hull, transducer

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suction cup for transducer won't stay-help! 3312011 Boaters Forum 5 06-02-2008 10:38 PM
Thru-Hull mount side imaging transducer nlarson Boaters Forum 2 04-10-2008 02:30 PM
What type of epoxy for in-hull Transducer? thewarts Boat repair issues & Shop Maintenance 6 05-23-2006 04:12 PM
New transducer for Aluminum hulls! mikesxpress Boat repair issues & Shop Maintenance 3 12-24-2004 02:36 AM
Another f**king transducer darkriver4362 Boat repair issues & Shop Maintenance 4 11-15-2004 07:04 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2013 Stripers247.com LLC
Affiliated Sites:   Noreast.com   Allcoast.com    2coolfishing.com