Striped Bass Fishing Forums Forum banner

Lamiglas XS 10 MS Opinions?

11K views 13 replies 6 participants last post by  rjcappy 
#1 ·
So i think i finally found the rod i am going to buy, seems perfect for what i need it for. I did a search on here, but didn't find anything about this rod. So i figured i would ask people's opinion, what do you guys think of it? (http://www.tackledirect.com/lamrodxs10ms.html - Just for reference)

#3 ·
I'm no expert, but I always suspected windknots were due to reeling in without tension. Have a couple of loose wraps on the spool, and snap. I wish I had a picture to show you, but you can do this yourself: next time you cast, obsever the line in between the spool, and the first guide (the stripper guide). Do it in the day, and use bank sinker for max distance. If the line goes from big coils to fairly tame AFTER the guide, then you should be fine. If it piles up too much as with heavy monofilament, the guide needs to be adjusted out. If it's out too much it'll gain so much inertia the coils will start to slap the blank.

Also, bigger stripper guide isn't always the answer. Sometimes a high profile smaller guide will do more to improve your cast.

I don't know if that helps. I've never heard of guides being the reason for breakage unless it's damaged and chafing. I can't say anything about the rod either, other than it should feel amazing.

#4 ·
#5 ·
Get one made to your specs. The guides are not always set perfectly for all users. You need one that is custom fit to your size and casting style. After starting to build rods for myself and my friends I have found the guide placement to be subjective depending on the user and so having the guides custom placed can reduce the "slapping" of the line when casting thereby reducing wind knots, etc. Also depends on what reel and line you're using. I'll never buy a store rod again. Building 2 lami's right now

#6 ·