Striped Bass Fishing Forums Forum banner

Boston Harbor strippers

7K views 9 replies 9 participants last post by  jon006 
#1 ·
i am new to stripers and how/where/when should i catch stripers in boston harbor? Can i buy live eels around here or can i trap them?

#6 ·
Get Jack Gartside's The Fly Fisherman's Guide to Boston Harbor. Even if you are not a shore based flyfisherman, Jack's book will acquaint you with the Harbor from Hull northward toward Winthrop and environs like no other guidebook. There is also great information on fishing the Harbor Islands. Jack is a native of the Harbor area, and has fished there for the last 50 or so years. He knows his stuff.

As a newbie, you will learn where and when to fish, by tide and season, and what types of bait are found where and when. The pictures in the book are black and white, but once you've visited and area and looked at a few charts etc., you will be able to locate the areas he recommends in the book and the pictures and information will start to make sense.

You can order this guide, along with all sorts of other fishing info and fly tying materials and instructions on Jack's website, which pops right up on a Google Search query. Also to be recommended are his Striper Strategies, Secrets of a Striper Bum. Again, flyfishing oriented, but chock full of information about striper and fishing in general.

#7 ·
I fish along the South Boston shoreline and have had great results with worms. Just put em out there and they will come. Once the crabs are around though you will go through worms quickly. but if the weathers nice the sights on the beach can be just as fun as the fishing:sydan::a_goodjob:

#10 ·
This is ironic, I found this site last year when I first moved to Boston trying to learn the same thing you are.

My suggestions are: