Total nOOb in CT - Stripers247.com Forums

Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > MAIN FORUM DISCUSSION > Stripers 101 - The Beginners clinic.
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Stripers 101 - The Beginners clinic. Saltwater and freshwater surfcasting. Plugging, Bait dunking and boating

Old 07-29-2009, 11:53 AM
NOOB

Default Total nOOb in CT

Hi All,

Great forum you got here. tons of info.
I'm glad I stumbled upon this site as I am learning a ton. now its time to go out there and apply the "knowledge".
Wait a minute... I dont even have any gear yet.
Advertisement

Old 07-29-2009, 12:05 PM
The Artist Formerly known as Jackbass
Pro Staff

Default Re: Total nOOb in CT

Good Luck and remember to have fun.
Old 07-29-2009, 12:23 PM
Striper Hunter

Regarding the gear. As a noob myself this year I made the mistake of buying gear that was too heavy to begin with for the plugging that I mainly do. So my heavier combo is now put aside for if I go chunking and thanks to my dad I got a great lightweight combo that is strong and has tons of feel and now when I am plugging my arm does not feel like it will fall off.

What I am saying is if you are going to be plugging then use a lighter weight set up.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-29-2009, 01:07 PM
NOOB

Thanks, Jack.
Appreciate the info, Double.
Dont mind me asking but what exactly did you pick up?
I would love to get a combo that would allow me to use different methods (chunking and plugging). any way to do that?
I would be mainly fishing from the beach or a pier. no boats in the near future. At this point I just want to catch A fish.

fist week of August we will be camping in Rocky Neck State Park in CT. Looks like I could do some ocean, saltmarsh and freshwater fishing there. any suggestions or pointers?
Old 07-29-2009, 03:05 PM
NOOB

Default Noob with questions. Please help.

Hello,