Packaged Herring Bait - Stripers247.com Forums

Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > East Coast Regional Forums > Hudson River
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Hudson River The mighty Hudson River reports information and Discussion

Old 03-21-2014, 10:40 PM
First Mate

Default Packaged Herring Bait

Ive been fishing for stripers for 3 years, this run being my fourth. I fish from shore and some times have luck with bait and sometimes don't. I hooked into my first fish last year and feel I have found a great spot on the river as we hooked in on multiple trips through out the run. At this location I have not been successful in getting any bait. I was looking at buying packaged whole Herring and uses chunk. My question is has anyone bought in any stores or over the internet vacu packed herring and been successful? I hate not having any lines in when I first arrive so was thinking of buying some to fish with until I can get some fresh from the river.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-21-2014, 10:57 PM
Striper Hunter

Default Re: Packaged Herring Bait

There is a bait shop in wappingers falls that sell packs of 3
Old 03-21-2014, 11:09 PM
First Mate

I fish up in Albany probably won't make it down there. Was gong to see if Conroy's has any or just order some up online but figured i would see if anyone has had any success using them.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-22-2014, 05:44 AM
Senior Member Elite

Quote:
Originally Posted by albanyfish518 View Post
I fish up in Albany probably won't make it down there. Was gong to see if Conroy's has any or just order some up online but figured i would see if anyone has had any success using them.
Conroy's and Hudson River Bait in Rensselaer both sell herring .... i know Hudson River sells freshly netted herring and i would use that over frozen
Old 03-22-2014, 09:25 AM
First Mate

Quote: