Striped Bass Fishing Forums Forum banner

Equipment/tackle assistance please.

5K views 10 replies 7 participants last post by  zimno1 
#1 ·
I just received a Redington Red Fly 9wt rod and an Orvis mid-arbor V reel for Christmas. I'd like to get people's opinions about this combo as I'm new to fly fishing and want to make sure I'm using the best thing for a beginner. Also any line or terminal tackle recommendations would also be appreciated.

#3 ·
I have seen a $25 rod cast a heavy fly 100 feet and I have seen a Sage XP throw line in pile 15 feet in front of the angler. The difference is in the person making the cast. Spending time learning how to cast BEFORE you go fishing will help tremendously. I often have clients learn the casting stroke before I put a rod in their hands. Most people learning don't relize the importance of the backcast. The folks a flyanglersonline.com have info, but I recomend a book by Lefty Kreh. GOOD Luck

Dating and fishing should be approached the same way:
Catch & Release

#4 ·
Thank you for the responses. I'd be using it for striper, inshore, rivers, inlets and maybe a bit in the surf. If necessary I'll get another spool & line set up. If you have any suggestions for fly line and backing types that would be great.

I will likely take a lesson at some point late winter early spring to lear to cast correctly. I had someone showing me a bit on their set up early this year so I know there is a bit to learning the timing and correct form.

#5 ·