Braided line question - Stripers247.com Forums

Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > MAIN FORUM DISCUSSION > Stripers 101 - The Beginners clinic.
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Stripers 101 - The Beginners clinic. Saltwater and freshwater surfcasting. Plugging, Bait dunking and boating

Old 08-20-2008, 06:53 PM
Striper Hunter

Default Braided line question

I recently put some braided line on a few of my rods to try it out. (I have never been advanced enough to even think to use anything but mono) I seem to get a really good feel for the bottom and bites with the stuff. My problem is in the knots. I'm not very good with knots. Improved clinch & snelling hooks that about as good as It gets. I'm losing tackle because I think the knot is failing. I found all kinds of info on knots for braided line but was hoping for some first hand knowledge on what works best
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-20-2008, 06:59 PM
I had a BLAST!

Location: I'm from Manhattan, live in Ct, & my heart is in SOCO
Default Re: Bradied line question

This is from the site.
https://www.stripers247.com/phpBB2/showthread.php?t=1810

But from my line, braid/Fireline, I use a palomar to attach to a swivel.
It has worked for me for years.
Old 08-20-2008, 07:00 PM
Old Salt
Pro Staff

you wanna stay away from a clinch type knot as it will slip. tie an albright for line to leader. as you should have a shock leader for the sake of your rod tip as if you get a large fish the braid (could) put a groove in the sucker when you get all the weight of the fish close at hand. however, a palomar is best it you are attaching straight to plug/metal/swivel etc/

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-20-2008, 07:08 PM
Striper Hunter

This site never ceases to amaze me thanks a lots guys that was A BIG HELP and doesn't look to difficlut I'll try it out
Old 08-22-2008, 06:53 PM