New to surf fishing. I need some help please! - Stripers247.com Forums

Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > MAIN FORUM DISCUSSION > The Striper Forum
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

The Striper Forum All things Striper. Striped Bass Fishing Room Born on date March 11 2004.

Old 05-15-2013, 08:16 PM
Official Member

Default New to surf fishing. I need some help please!

Hello my name is Fuzzy,

I hope you are having a nice day. I am new to surf fishing. I plan on going surf fishing in New Jersey this summer to be more specific Island Beach State Park.

I plan on buy this:
Amazon.com: Shakespeare Medium Action Ugly Stik Bigwater Combo, 10-Feet:... Amazon.com: Shakespeare Medium Action Ugly Stik Bigwater Combo, 10-Feet:...
I plan on strictly fishing on the beach. I want to just cast my line and set my rod on a sand spike. I do not want to be jigging or anything. So my five questions are:

1. Is a 10 foot rod appropriate for surf fishing?

2. Is a medium, heavy action rod an ideal action for a surf fishing rod?

3. What lb and kind of line do I need for a 10 foot, medium heavy action rod? And how does one go about matching the proper lb test line to match their rod?

5. What should the rod be rated?

4. Any other things I should know about surf fishing?

Thank you and happy fishing!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-16-2013, 04:48 AM
I had a BLAST!

Location: I'm from Manhattan, live in Ct, & my heart is in SOCO
Default Re: New to surf fishing. I need some help please!

Hi, and welcome

I would get a reel with a baitrunner feature, if your gonna do the bait and wait thing. Shimano, Penn and Okuma make them. Ugly Stick surf rods are decent. You want one that will throw a sinker up to six ozs, and bait comfortably.
Old 05-16-2013, 10:21 AM
Official Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy Z View Post
Hi, and welcome