Newbie here -- terms Plugging / Chunking ? - Stripers247.com Forums

Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > MAIN FORUM DISCUSSION > Stripers 101 - The Beginners clinic. > Shorebound - Surf Beginners
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Shorebound - Surf Beginners Information for the Shorebound angler

Old 01-31-2006, 04:39 PM

Default Newbie here -- terms Plugging / Chunking ?

Hey all. I've been lurking here for a tad and wanted to officially say hello and ask my first of undoubtedly many stupid questions.

I've been trying to figure out what you guys are talking about in many of these threads and the only thing I think I see is that I'm somewhere REEL close to a "Googan."

If you will, what do plugging and chunking mean I'm sure that there are a bunch more of these that I won't get so feel free to point out anything you like.

Thanks.

Tainui
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-31-2006, 04:55 PM
The Poacher Poacher - I poach poachers

There are no stupid questions here ;) Without questions, there'd be no answers...we'd never learn

"Plugging" is used to describe throwing lures. If I'm gonna take a bag full of wood plugs, and hit the rocks or the surf, I will tell my friends I'm goin' "pluggin'". Plugging can also be used to describe fishing live eels....."plugging" eels means fishing the live eel as you would a lure...casting it out with a slow retrieve.

If I am instead gonna take a little cooler with say, Herring, then I'd say "I'm off to go chunkin'". Chunking describes tossing chunks of bait as your presentation to the fish.

I hope this helps! :)

Old 01-31-2006, 06:42 PM

Hi Tanuii
Glad you posted. Your post is exactly the reason this site came into being. Like JB said, ask questions. Now that the search feature works its back to its good old self (thanks to JB) there really is a wealth of info on these pages.