basic surf kit? - Stripers247.com Forums

Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > Around The Woodstove > The Lounge
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

The Lounge Off-topic discussion here. Non-fishing related chit chat & banter. No Divisive subject matter - No Viscious Political and Religious debates please.

Old 10-07-2004, 02:55 PM

Default basic surf kit?

I posted this in the ask al forum...
dose any body else have thought?
I am new to surf fishing, myself and my fishing buddys have always used bait or cut bait. I would like to select some basic surf lures to make up a surf bag. My question is what are a few basic lures, and what else gose in a surf bag?

Thanks for the Help
Mattman
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-07-2004, 03:08 PM
The Poacher Poacher - I poach poachers

I usually have various Bombers, Gibbs Danny's, Gibb's Pencil Poppers, and some metal like Kastmasters or Charlie Graves Squid Tins. I also bring surface poppers, and some rubbah like Storm Wildeyes. Slug-Go's, Fin-S fish and Bass Assassins are good too if ya can get em out theya.

Old 10-07-2004, 04:28 PM

Default Mattman

Mattman
Welcome to the board
Al is away at the Jersey shore at present but when we gets the chance Hell be answering questions.
I recently have taken to pluggin some in the surf myself. I've always been a bait fishermen in salt water. A yellow bucktail is like number 1 in the arsenal in long island. My number one depends on conditions.
( I had posted this elsewhere)
Popping plugs or surface lures are most effective during low light conditions such as dawn or dusk.
Metal lures, such as Kastmasters or Hopkins are best during bright sunlight conditions.
Swimming lures, both shallow swimmers and deep divers work best during the day when fish are less likely to come to the surface to feed and at night when they are close to the bottom and less active.