Up river bass during the fall run. - Stripers247.com Forums

Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > MAIN FORUM DISCUSSION > Boaters Forum > Boating Beginners
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Boating Beginners Beginner Boating Questions and Answers

Old 10-16-2009, 05:33 PM
Rubber Shad Ex-spert

Default Up river bass during the fall run.

Hello all. I'm not ashamed to say that probably all the bass I've ever caught were completely by accident. I was doing something right and most likely didn't even know it.

I know I'm still learning, and I wish I knew something that you guys have probably discovered the hard way.

I'm wondering: during the fall run, I imagine fish coming from up north, pooring OUT of the river systems. For me this is Maine, NH, and maybe Nova Scotia. Each new moon phase brings them south like the ticking of a clock. . . a really slow clock. Now I ask: WILL they go up the many small river systems that dot our coast during the fall migration phase? for me this would be the rivers in Quincy, ma; Fore river, back river, the North River? I don't go far.

I know that they were in these river systems and estuaries the whole summer, but would a fish in full on migration go upstream in search of a meal during what we call the 'fall run'?

I don't imagine they would, and my experience has indicated they probably don't. That's very limited experience, and it's why I ask.

Furthermore, as the season winds down, I can picture bass peeling out of the river systems on the outgoing tides, but would this also be partly timed off of the moon phase?

Any piece of salt water real estate is worth fishing any time of year, BUT if your trying to catch bass do you think your effort and energy would be better spent out on the beaches and jetties than fishing the back estuaries during the fall run?

I appreciate your input!
Sponsored Links