Striped Bass Fishing Forums Forum banner

Newbie here with a couple questions.....

7K views 6 replies 4 participants last post by  FyshhTrap 
#1 ·
Hey folks, first thanks for taking a minute to read my thread. I just returned from several years overseas and am living in Old Town, Alexandria. Been striper/rockfish fishing for years, mostly up in MA with my father in kayaks. I have resettled here and am interested in taking my stepson out for some action.

Funny thing was when one of the movers saw my rods, he said I was in a good spot for the cows that come up the Potomac. He mentioned the old town area near the power plant. I haven't investigated this area yet, but it is walking distance.

If anyone fishes this area, i'd love to hear from you. My second big question is where I can buy blood worms in the area. Online searches are not yielding much results and the mover mentioned a Spanish convenient store that carried them, but heck if I remember the name or location.

I'd like to get out there soon as this is the season and wanted to get my stepson into some fish, as he is new to the USA and I think I found an activity that we will both enjoy.

Any info is appreciated, even if it is in a private message. Looking forward to reading other posts and adding to the discussions.

Regards,
Striper Rob

See less See more
#2 ·
Hi, Rob. Welcome to the forum. I'm not familiar with your area, but I would look online for local bait and tackle stores in your area or surrounding area's. Blood worm's can be found at your local Walmart most times. I'm sure a forum member that fishes your area will come along soon. I'm thinking the mover was talking more of Striper fishing more were the Potomac meets the bay, I could be wrong. But I'm sure you can get a lot of info from the internet to get started in the right direction. Tight lines.

#3 ·