Striped Bass Fishing Forums Forum banner

Ultimate plugging setup

8K views 37 replies 15 participants last post by  redhawk19 
#1 ·
I fish the surf in NJ, mainly for stripers. I have been fishing mostly bait for 2 years, and want to get into plugging. I have quite a few setups, Shimano and TICA my favorites, but I want to invest one time in the ultimate plugging setup. Any reccommendations on reel (make and model) and rod (make, legnth and action)

#2 ·
AFAW 11' Estuary, 2.50 ZeeBaas.
I haven't settled on a line yet. Currently using Cortland 35# spectra and could be happier, need to try another. I think it's time to have a go with 20# Sufix Performance Braid.

#3 ·
sudsy...i spooled my baitrunner 4500 this morning...about 4am at the rhodie gathering...with 20# suffix.....OMFG!!!!! i like fire line...but i fell in love with the suffix today. i also spooled a penn 7500ss with 65# suffix for future cape cod canal jigging...i gave it a test drive....and again..OMFG!!!! ive been doing some research on those zee"s...someday ill save up and play with the big boys..but i have read a lot of guys are going with 65# suffix on those reels. i know gunny had a lot of problems today using 30# braid on his zee..maybe too thin? he lost a lot of plugs..he thinks he was witnessing the line bumping the pick-up rollers as the line was flying off the spool. the line then was knotting and getting caught in his guides causing the snap-offs. he checked his guides for knicks and such and they were fine. maybe a guide issue on his rod for that reel?...spacing or size of the first guide?...at least that was one thought i had.

#4 ·
I'll second the AFAW 11' Esturary rod thumbsup.gif & ZeeBaas. I don't have a Zeebaas on mine, but they're sahweeeet reels. I've used a Quantum Cabo PT40, Penn 706Z, and an Abu Garcia 6500 Chrome Rocket on my Estuary rod.... not sure yet which I like best of the three...

#5 ·