wanted to say hello and ask for some help in the surf - Stripers247.com Forums

Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > MAIN FORUM DISCUSSION > Surfcasting Central
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Surfcasting Central A forum for Rockhoppers, Sandmen, Beachbuggies, etc.

Old 08-06-2006, 03:17 AM

Default wanted to say hello and ask for some help in the surf

hey all,as you noticed im NEW to this forum,i am very new in striper fishing in the surf so excuse me if i sound just a bit noobish,lol

anyways,this probably the MOST NOOBISH thing you will ever hear to your life!
how in the heck do you guys cast so far in the surf?

serously,im not trying to be funny

ve seen guys cast like ridicously far,like 15 yrds past anyways the second breaker (you consider taht far? lol my counting is less mediorce,and so is my spelling) i mean if im lucky i cant get my lures barely past the second breaker

any tips for distance casting?

i came into striper surf fishing after doing ALOT of freshwater largemouth bass fishing where distance casting isnt as important
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-06-2006, 11:16 PM

Distance is really an equipment driven thing. Technique will get you out even further but a proper rod (10'+) rated for the weights you're throwing, a reel that matches to the rod and braided line will by itself get you well past the second wave.
Add good technique and practice and you'll be casting well past the second bar.

I highly recommend picking up the video Distance Casting with Ron Arra and the companion book The Ultimate Guide to Surfcasting again by Ron Arra.
Old 08-07-2006, 01:13 PM
First Mate
Pro Staff