total newbie - Stripers247.com Forums

Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > MAIN FORUM DISCUSSION > Boaters Forum > Kayaking Stripers
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Kayaking Stripers A forum for the YAK'rs out there.

Old 05-30-2009, 07:59 PM
Lurker supreme

Default total newbie

Ok fellas tear into me!! I recently aquired a Malibu Tandem Pro that I plan on using for some occasional fishing. So where does a total newbie begin fitting out his yak? I want to be able to fish a couple of areas in particular, Scortons Creek and the Chatham Flats. I've got a ton of questions like how the heck are you supposed to get the friggin rods out from behind you if you get a strike while trolling? I will on occasion have my navigator with me (11 year old daughter) hence the tandem.

Thanks and I'll try to keep the questions to a minimum while figuring this out.

My best,
Mike
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-30-2009, 08:01 PM
Lurker supreme

Default Re: total newbie

How about seats? Are they really needed? How about those Hot Seat pads from SurftoSummit? The Malibu is a sit on top, what about just one of those back pad thingys.
Old 05-31-2009, 01:13 AM
Official Member

Since I'm around I'll pass on some things that I was taught, but I'm a NooB too, so take it for what it's worth.
  • Practice. Paddle your yack in a nice pond or lake and get a feel for how it handles especially in the wind.
  • Practice. Getting off, and WAY more importantly getting back ON the boat. Could save your life some day.
  • Take it slow. One step at a time getting out on the ocean. Try to have apaddling buddy along untill you are 100% comfortable.
  • Dress for the water temps NOT the air temps. Dry suit or dry top and waders with belt(s). If you go overboard you will be glad. So will your family when they get you back.