Surf casting equipment - Stripers247.com Forums

Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > MAIN FORUM DISCUSSION > Surfcasting Central
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Surfcasting Central A forum for Rockhoppers, Sandmen, Beachbuggies, etc.

Old 06-16-2006, 08:29 AM

Default Surf casting equipment

Hello to all who read this. I live in western Massachusetts and 2-3 times a year I fish plum Island with my son. We fish for stripers. I will be there Sunday. i am the guy with the ice fishing basket. I fish with an open faced reel and a 12 ft. rod. I find casting far out to be difficult. I am not good at gripping the line with my index finger so I use my index finger and my middle finger to grip the line while casting. O ccasionally I get a good cast but mostly the line slips and my bait goes ker-plunk in front of me. Does anyone know of a reel that does the holding for you.? Like-you push a button on the windup and then release it on the cast. I have searched in magazines but none of the advertised reels talk about casting in this manner.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-16-2006, 10:02 AM
Veteran Elite

PHIL YOU DON'T NECESSARILY HAVE TO CAST A MILE TO GET TO THE FISH,TRY A LITTLE LESS FORCE AND LET THE WHIP OF THE 12' ROD DO THE WORK. GOOD LUCK.
Old 06-16-2006, 10:17 AM
Striper Hunter

thats a BIG rod. Might have a easier time with a 10 or 9 and get further
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-16-2006, 11:25 AM
LunkHead

Do a search for a device called a Breakaway, mounts near the reel to hold the line till your ready to fire, and let 'er rip.....never tried one, but they look like they would work.

Ed

"An Evil Barbarian with a Wrench in His Pocket......"

Old 06-16-2006, 12:29 PM
King of Eels
Pro Staff

Phild,