Happy To Be Joining The Hunt - Stripers247.com Forums

Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > MAIN FORUM DISCUSSION > New Member Introductions
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

New Member Introductions Please introduce yourself to the members of Stripers247.com

Old 09-19-2010, 03:49 PM
Striper Hunter

Default Happy To Be Joining The Hunt

Hi, All. I'm new to the sport this year, been a member on this site for a couple of months and am excited to be learning how to hunt these beasts.

Good fortune finds me here and this is my first post. I got interested in striper fishing last year. Earlier this year I was selling some water sport equipment I was no longer using and ended up meeting a skilled striper fisherman in the process. Instead of buying and selling we negotiated an equipment trade and a couple of lessons for me but I had some homework to do first.

This site has been great, not so much for telling me what I need to know, but for helping me figure out what I need to learn. Just by following the threads I knew I had to get educated about knots, tides and currents, baits and lures, underwater structure, safety measures, etc.

I found a great instructor in Newport who taught me the basics about tying knots, design and use of lures, information sources, etc. and his services were very reasonably priced. I didn't want to waste my surf lessons time on these fundamental things.

I took my first surf fishing lesson at Brenton Point yesterday morning. What a blast! I got knocked on my ass standing on the ledge, washed off the side into the rip, climbed back up and kept casting. A little sore today.