Striped Bass Fishing Forums Forum banner

Would like hot striper fly recipe

10K views 12 replies 4 participants last post by  zimno1 
#1 ·
Fly fishing for stripers is something I've wanted to try for the past year after seeing a fly fisherman doing quite well from a float tube at our local reservoir, San Luis Reservoir. I have a lot of experience tying flies, but mostly for trout and some saltwater clousers for San Diego Bay kelp bass and halibut. Does anybody have a favorite striper fly recipe they would like to share? I plan on using fast sink tip line on an 8 wt. rod. San Luis held the land-locked world record for many years and a 70# specimen was caught in 2008, but never considered as a record. So, I want to go big in hopes of hooking into a large striper, but will take schoolies all day if they want to play. I have seen several striper fly recipes online, but just seeing what some thoughts are here. Thanks.

#3 ·
Thanks for the reply. Yes, I was thinking along the lines of a large clouser in a 2/0 or 3/0. I have many small sizes in the #4 in chartreuse/white with flashabou. I'm considering using white bunny strips for stripers as they work awesome on FL Keys barracudas, snappers and snook.

#4 ·