Total Beginner - Stripers247.com Forums

Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > MAIN FORUM DISCUSSION > Stripers 101 - The Beginners clinic.
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Stripers 101 - The Beginners clinic. Saltwater and freshwater surfcasting. Plugging, Bait dunking and boating

Old 02-28-2013, 12:48 PM
Official Member

Default Total Beginner

Hi I am new to salt water but recently moved to Norwalk and figure I may as well give it a try. I have been fishing for Trout and Bass in freshwater my whole life but know that salt water is a whole new world. So I guess what I am getting at is I am looking for any advice people are willing to give on rod/reel, locations, when to fish the tides, local bait shops.......

Eventually I want to get a boat to go out and fish in the sound but will probably just get a smaller boat sufficient to get out a little ways since the larger the boat the larger the budget and my budget is pretty slim.

So for now I will be fishing from shore (surf casting) I still need to get a decent rod and reel set up and then figure out where to go.

Is anyone catching stripers at this point in the year?

Thanks in advance for any help/advice.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-01-2013, 10:25 AM
Wellcraft V20 w/ 150HP OceanRunner

Smile Re: Total Beginner