Surfcasting P.I.? - Stripers247.com Forums

Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > East Coast Regional Forums > Massachusetts
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Massachusetts Striped bass fishing in Massachusetts

Old 07-17-2012, 03:25 PM
Official Member

Default Surfcasting P.I.?

I have gone out the past couple days before day break and have not seen much of anything. Do I need to look for a blitz or should I just keep casting and walking down the beach? Also, i have been using an SP minnow and Arkansas Shiner Sluggos on a jig head. Any tips would be much appreciated as I am only 15 yrs old and am a self taught fisherman.
Thanks,
Jake
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-22-2012, 03:40 AM
Official Member

Default Re: Surfcasting P.I.?

The season for us surf bound anglers has been slow on PI......until a few days ago. The ocean side of P.I. has been producing some decent sized schoolie bass. Last Friday night and into the wee hours of Saturday morning the boats were tight to the shoreline...always a good sign. The bait guys had a few hits but plugs were the key here as the schoolies would move up and down the beach good distances throughout the night. I was able to follow them for some good action where as for the bait guys it was not so easy to keep up with the constantly moving school. I did not here of any cows being taken but some action is better then no action. I have not seen any bluefish taken in the surf as of yet but I read reports that a few were taken near Cranes Beach so that should heat things up. The mouth of the Merrimack river has been dead as of late so I would not even bother with it for a few weeks. Also, the reservation is offlimits, even lot 1, as the plovers are still messing about. See ya in da suds..........
Old 07-22-2012, 07:58 AM
Striper Hunter