Striped Bass Fishing Forums Forum banner

Braid Line keeps breaking during Casts???

26K views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  zimno1 
#1 ·
I am new to surf fishing so I may be doing something obviously wrong but I have lost two lures on back to back weekends due to my line breaking during casting. The first time, using braid line connected to a 15" fluorocarbon leader throwing a 2 1/4 oz plug. The line broke right at the albright knot connecting the braid line to the fluro line. After doing some research online I came to the conclusion that this was due to increased loading during casting causing the line to snap. I decided to try using a shock leader on my next time out. I attached my braid main line to a 15' mono shock leader using an albright knot, allowing for multiple wraps around the reel. Again, I had the same result. On my third cast the line broke right at the albright knot.

Gear:
9' Surf Mojo 3/4-4 rod; Shimano Spheros 8000 reel; 30lb PP braid; 50lb tirlene big game mono shock leader; 50lb YO-Zuri Fluorocarbon leader.

The surf Mojo has small guides, could it be the albright knot is getting caught in the guides and breaking? I also have an 11' Ocean Master rod that I use for bait and I use the same line 30lb pp and same leader and shock leader, and have never broken the line and I throw 5+ oz's with it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm new to surf fishing and loosing brand new 12-15$ lures every time I go out is getting frustrating.

See less See more
#3 ·
Run a cotton ball through each of your guides to check for any nicks or abrasions that could be cutting through your line during the cast. This is probably the most common cause of what you're experiencing, assuming that the line is actually breaking and not that your knot is simply coming untied.

#4 ·