Striped Bass Fishing Forums Forum banner

Discussions Showcase Albums Media Media Comments Tags Marketplace

1-20 of 57 Results
  1. Hudson River
    Howdy folks, back again with some questions about leaders. I plan on spooling my rod with 40# test braid. I just assumed you had to use a leader with braid, but it occurred to me i had no idea why? I picked up some 50# test fluorocarbon to make fish finder rigs with for fishing chunk, but...
  2. Reels and Reel Maintenance
    Just picked up some pink braid line mainly for personal vision purposes. Anyone ever use it or have anything to say about it?
  3. The Striper Forum
    In order to save $ on the cost of braided line, does it make sense, instead of spooling a reel with 300yds. of braid, use 150yds of braid and 150yds of 50# backing.I fish the Hudson River,Albany,N.Y. using Penn bait casters.
  4. Stripers 101 - The Beginners clinic.
    Hello! I'm in Tulsa, Oklahoma fishing for stripers in the Arkansas River. I'm very new to fishing for striped bass. I started last year. And so far it has been a blast! Thankfully the internet and youtube have a wealth of info to help me learn how to catch these guys. But I still have a...
  5. Hudson River
    iv always used mono but i had a hog break off last year. so i was thinking of using braid i know people say the fish can see braid but on a clear day the hudson has a vis of like 2 ft was just wondering if any one has any info if you have noticed a differance in bit using braid vs mono thanks in...
  6. Tackle Evaluation & Product review
    hello fellow hookers. ol gp just last month used braid for the first time. all you mono guys gotta switch. I cant believe how good it caSTS. I used 30 and 40 pound braid and it casts like 12 and 15 pound test mono. Just puttin in my 2 cents worth. ol gp
  7. Stripers 101 - The Beginners clinic.
    What is everyone using to avoid cuts? I have used the sports tape, off shore gloves from bass pro. Thanks
  8. Hudson River