Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > MAIN FORUM DISCUSSION > Stripers 101 - The Beginners clinic.
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Stripers 101 - The Beginners clinic. Saltwater and freshwater surfcasting. Plugging, Bait dunking and boating


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 07-23-2007, 08:32 AM
colad's Avatar
colad colad is offline
in awe of real fisherman
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Douglas, MA
Posts: 236
Default How to spool braid?

Hi All,
Yet another question from me. Hopefully I can start giving back soon. I am hearing a lot of good things about braid and I used a friends reel once that had the spider wire braid on it and I really liked the feel. My question is how do I spool it up ona spinning reel. I have heard you have to use Mono backing to get it on the reel and that you should use a shock leader on the business end. Is this true? Assuming 20# test spiderwire green braid could someone give me some thoughts on a basic step by step level as to how to set that up from spool to swivel? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-23-2007, 11:03 AM
Roccus's Avatar
Roccus Roccus is offline
King of Eels
Pro Staff
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Reading, Mass/Rings Island
Posts: 4,184
Default Re: How to spool braid?

I put about 10 yds of mono on my spool ( via an allbright knot 21 turns) then I wet pack the braid, to do this, I half fill a 5 gallon bucket with water, I then put my spool of braid into it, I have a steel dowel that is the width of the bucket that I put through the spool, and drop the spool into the bucket, now I can pinch the braid between my fingers and fill my spool, the line packs tightly and is less likely to dig into itself...
__________________
.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-23-2007, 11:27 AM
JakeF's Avatar
JakeF JakeF is offline
Administrator
Pro Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Bedford, MA
Posts: 5,727
Default Re: How to spool braid?

Hi Colad,
What Roccus said

It is very important to use a mono backing under the braid, simply because without it the braid will slip on the spool rendering your reel useless when you have a fish on. I put just enough mono on the reel so that you can still fit at least 200-300 yards or so of braid on top of it, filling the spool to within an 1/8” or so from the lip. The amount of mono will vary depending on the size of your reel, but you don’t need much to provide the spool grip it’s intended for, anything more than that is just to save you money by partially filling the spool with a cheaper line than braid.

I use an Albright knot to join the mono backing and the braided line. The Albright knot is pretty easy to tie once you learn it and is great for joining two lines of different diameter.

Unless I’m planning to throw more than 4 or 5 ounces, I don’t use a shock leader and just terminate the braid with a swivel. If I do need to use a shock leader, I join it to the braid with an Albright knot coated with Plio-Bond (a waterproof pliable cement). The coating helps to protect the knot as it passes through the eyes during the cast and helps lock it together. Make sure your shock leader is long enough that it is wrapped a good 4 or 5 times around the reel when casting.

I’m sure others have different methods, but this has worked very well for me.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-23-2007, 01:12 PM
colad's Avatar
colad colad is offline
in awe of real fisherman
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Douglas, MA
Posts: 236
Default Re: How to spool braid?

Thank you Both! this is great info! For the braid is a palomar knot still good to terminate with on the swivel? that is what I use now and it seems to hold up pretty well. Didn't know if that changed for the braid.

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-23-2007, 01:20 PM
JakeF's Avatar
JakeF JakeF is offline
Administrator
Pro Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Bedford, MA
Posts: 5,727
Default Re: How to spool braid?

Palomar works well with braid too. I tend to use a Uni most of the time for that, but a lot of guys really like the Palomar.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-05-2007, 10:57 AM
colad's Avatar
colad colad is offline
in awe of real fisherman
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Douglas, MA
Posts: 236
Default Re: How to spool braid?

Ok,
Tomorrow is the night of braid for me. I have one last question. I have 20# braid with 30# fluro leader. Do most of you terminate the braid right to a barrell swivel and then tie a 18-30 inch leader to that? What about a snap swivel? Seems a snap would be easier to switch out leaders/lures?
Or do many of you just tie the leader to the line and just cut it when you want to change out?

any thoughts are always appreciated.

thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-06-2007, 02:38 AM
Sudsy's Avatar
Sudsy Sudsy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: On the Hook, NJ
Posts: 3,474
Default Re: How to spool braid?

That sounds about right but keep the leader closer to 30". I normally use a leader between 36" and 40"

I'm a duolock snap fan but only after it's been modified to help keep a big fish from opening it. Here's a picture (the modified snap is on the left) and a link to the thread that explains the modification

Click image for larger version

Name:	DuolockModification.jpg
Views:	484
Size:	164.3 KB
ID:	3281

http://www.stripers247.com/phpBB2/sh...lock#post58228



Also remember braid can cut you, especially if you've been fishing wet and your fingers are pruned up and soft and you're throwing metal or big plugs. Use some kind of finger protection. Some guys use various kinds of tape, I've always had problems keeping tape on when I'm out on a rock and getting beat by waves so I use the leather finger protectors you can get at most tackle shops

Name:  LeatherCastingGuard.jpg
Views: 13408
Size:  2.3 KB
__________________
"I just wanta play everyday despite small nagging injuries --
and go home to a woman who appreciates how full of crap I truly am"..... Crash Davis
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-29-2008, 08:26 AM
bassing bassing is offline
Striper Hunter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: R.I.
Posts: 104
Default Re: How to spool braid?

I use 50# dacron for a backing it packs nicely on the spool.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-07-2009, 09:32 PM
poorpaddy poorpaddy is offline
Official Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: How to spool braid?

Quote:
Originally Posted by baitrunner View Post
Hi Colad,
What Roccus said

It is very important to use a mono backing under the braid, simply because without it the braid will slip on the spool rendering your reel useless when you have a fish on. I put just enough mono on the reel so that you can still fit at least 200-300 yards or so of braid on top of it, filling the spool to within an 1/8” or so from the lip. The amount of mono will vary depending on the size of your reel, but you don’t need much to provide the spool grip it’s intended for, anything more than that is just to save you money by partially filling the spool with a cheaper line than braid.

I use an Albright knot to join the mono backing and the braided line. The Albright knot is pretty easy to tie once you learn it and is great for joining two lines of different diameter.

Unless I’m planning to throw more than 4 or 5 ounces, I don’t use a shock leader and just terminate the braid with a swivel. If I do need to use a shock leader, I join it to the braid with an Albright knot coated with Plio-Bond (a waterproof pliable cement). The coating helps to protect the knot as it passes through the eyes during the cast and helps lock it together. Make sure your shock leader is long enough that it is wrapped a good 4 or 5 times around the reel when casting.

I’m sure others have different methods, but this has worked very well for me.

Would using some electrical tape on the spool and then braid directly accomplish the same as the mono backing? Friends have recommended doing this and then adding another piece of tape over the knot in case you were to get spooled.

Carious of your take on this before I go with it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-07-2009, 09:42 PM
zimno1's Avatar
zimno1 zimno1 is offline
Old Salt
Team Leader
Pro Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: staten island
Posts: 5,927
Default Re: How to spool braid?

(that's not what i said at the pier.(if that was indeed you) you missunderstood. in a pinch the tape would work but you better just use the mono like i said and albright the mono to the braid. mark how much braid you have on there now and spool mono up a half inch and then tie the braid with an albright knot to the mono and spool on the braid.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-07-2009, 10:42 PM
poorpaddy poorpaddy is offline
Official Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: How to spool braid?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zimno1 View Post
(that's not what i said at the pier.(if that was indeed you) you missunderstood. in a pinch the tape would work but you better just use the mono like i said and albright the mono to the braid. mark how much braid you have on there now and spool mono up a half inch and then tie the braid with an albright knot to the mono and spool on the braid.
I'm located in San Diego and haven't gone pier fishing in almost 10 years. I'm more into jetty, surf and boat fishing.

I intend to spool up a brand new Penn Spinfisher 950SSm with 65lb braid (using Spiderwire Red, approx. 15lb mono diameter) and then do a 30lb topshot of mono. Hoping to grab some yellowtail this weekend.

Needless to say, your advise is good and considered.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-13-2009, 05:22 PM
FastFred FastFred is offline
Official Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: How to spool braid?

I've been using PowerPro and I really like it. Here's how I do it...

Purchase a 150yd spool of PP. On a medium sized spinning reel, wind on the PP directly to the spool, no mono. Then tie your mono backing to the PP with a Uni to Uni knot. Now wind on enough mono to finish filling the spool. Then strip all the line off onto a water bottle using a drill. Strip the line off of that water bottle and onto another water bottle using the drill. Now your Mono is on the outer wraps of the water bottle. Tie the Mono onto the spool using an arbor knot. Wind the line onto the reel using a rag or gloves to create tension while winding.

Using this method, I can have the perfect amount of line on the reel without wasting any of the expensive braid, and I KNOW I have 150 yards of braid on the spool to work with.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-13-2009, 07:03 PM
zimno1's Avatar
zimno1 zimno1 is offline
Old Salt
Team Leader
Pro Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: staten island
Posts: 5,927
Default Re: How to spool braid?

i thought you were the guy i gave advise to at a pier near my work.
dump the spiderwire. you will be sorry.

where are you fishing with only 150 yds of braid?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-23-2009, 04:03 PM
zapper zapper is offline
Official Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 4
Default Re: How to spool braid?

hi im new here just got into striper fishing last summer. and now im "hooked" anyway i went out and bought a penn captiva rod and reel combo (spinner reel ) and spooled it up with 110 yards of 20lb spider braid.
then read the site >.> now im unspooling today and adding a backing basicly my question is is 110 yards enough (plan on surf and boat fishing in the merrimack area) or do i need more and if so do i join another spool of line to that spool or should i just strip it and buy a bigger spool of line.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-23-2009, 08:24 PM
mully537's Avatar
mully537 mully537 is offline
Lunker
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 299
Default Re: How to spool braid?

welcome to the site,there are a lot of guys here who spend a lot of time on the water and reap the rewards.im not too familiar with your reel and its capacity, but i feel really confident that 110 yards is not nearly enough.you dont want to find out you dont have enough line when you are into a fish of size that cant be turned easily.an under filled spool isnt going to cast well anyway. drop a few bucks in your local b&t shop and have them spool it for you maybe. you will probably learn about the places you are interested fishing also.good luck and look around the site.lots of good stuff here for someone just starting out .
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
braid, spool

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Different braid MasterBaiter Saltwater Tackle Shop 11 08-04-2007 09:30 PM
Braid ??? Npike Saltwater Tackle Shop 13 03-14-2006 11:26 PM
Wanted - Mitchell 396 and 496 skirted spool reels or parts Sudsy Buy - Sell - Trade 19 02-03-2006 11:57 PM
cutting braid Striper777 The Lounge 8 04-04-2005 09:32 AM
long cast spool for surf Chinookhead Surfcasting Central 1 12-21-2004 08:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2004 - 2013 Stripers247.com LLC
Affiliated Sites:   Noreast.com   Allcoast.com    2coolfishing.com
© 2011 Noreast Media, LLC | Terms of Service | Contact Us | Advertise