Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > East Coast Regional Forums > New Jersey
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

New Jersey Regional discussion, news and reports for striped bass fishing in New Jersey

Old 09-10-2010, 03:47 PM
Official Member

Default Long Beach Island

I'm a novice (and usually unsuccessful) striper fisherman from Mass. and I'll be coming to LBI for the weekend on 9/18. I want to do some surfcasting while I'm there. I'm staying in Beach Haven and I notice that the south end of the island is some sort of wildlife refuge. Can you fish from the shore there? Are there any recommended areas on the south end for stripers. Most people have advised me to go to IBSP but I may be on foot; that'd be a long walk!
Old 09-10-2010, 10:50 PM

Default Re: Long Beach Island

The south end is known as Holgate and yes it's a wildlife refuge
There is some great fishing there but really only down by the tip which would be a monstrous walk.
The greenhead flys would suck you completely dry if you tried it with the wrong wind conditions in the day, skeeters can be brutal at night.

There can be fish found just about anywhere on the island but it's mostly soft structure and you'll need to be able to read the beach. Think whitewater and sand eels (tin or needle and teaser) and you should be able to get a few. Bombers are a good call if they're in close.
As for teasers, Fisherman's Headquarters, just as you get on island, is the only place i know that carries Red Gills - best damned teaser ever made !

Make sure to take a trip to the north end of the island and throw some bucktails and plugs off the inlet jetty.
If you do a dawn patrol out there, the little 1950's looking old fashioned tin diner out there has some really good breakfast for small $$
Old 09-10-2010, 10:55 PM

Obviously I was talking about fishing at night