Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > East Coast Regional Forums > Rhode Island Fishing
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Rhode Island Fishing Rhode Island striped bass fishing - Local discussion & reports

Old 05-07-2009, 08:40 PM
Striper Hunter

Location: Providence R.I. i have lived in new york state montana and washington plus a couple of months in so
Default swans and geese

If there are swans and geese swimming in the water does that mean there aren't any fish in that area ? I am new to shore fishing and was wondering if thats why I haven't had any luck.The places I go to have those birds lazily swimming ..
Old 05-08-2009, 02:46 PM
Official Member

Default Re: swans and geese

Quote:
Originally Posted by spokandygrl View Post
If there are swans and geese swimming in the water does that mean there aren't any fish in that area ? I am new to shore fishing and was wondering if thats why I haven't had any luck.The places I go to have those birds lazily swimming ..
I've caught plenty of fish with swans, geese, ducks, and whatever else around. I don't think they have much of an effect on stripers, but I could be way off base.

Just my two cents.
Old 05-08-2009, 04:07 PM
Striper Hunter

Location: Providence R.I. i have lived in new york state montana and washington plus a couple of months in so
Default Re: looking for places to fish

I didn't know if it mattered or not.I will keep trying to catch fish and not birds they hit the line then go around.It's kinda of neat to watch .I hope this is a good fishing weekend..
Old 05-09-2009, 12:45 PM
Grouchy old Bassturd

I figure, (very) generally speaking, you're in the right place to possibly catch a fish.
In other words ----- don't mean too danged much one way or the other.
Old 05-09-2009, 01:32 PM
Striper Hunter