Striped Bass Fishing Site Map | Contact Us | Fishing Log Software | Fishing Online | Advertise
to UPLOAD: please register or login

Go Back   Stripers247.com Forums > MAIN FORUM DISCUSSION > Stripers 101 - The Beginners clinic.
Forgot Password? Register Now!!

Stripers 101 - The Beginners clinic. Saltwater and freshwater surfcasting. Plugging, Bait dunking and boating

Old 05-03-2016, 07:49 AM
Striper Hunter

Default Stocking a beginner tackle bag

I'm new to saltwater fishing, but not to fishing. I have my second baby due in a week or two, a family vacation in July, and countless other bills and expenses each month, so funds are limited.

Can you guys name off a few must have items, lures, rigs, tools etc that you would say I could get by with that will last me the whole season and provide enough versatility to catch fish under most situations?

I have quite a few lures in mind, but at $10-$20+ each, the tab runs high quickly. I made a trip to ducks the other day for some quick items just for my first trip out. needed new line, and I picked up a couple 1 oz Spro bucktails, a pack of 5" storm shads, and a pack of Gulp mullets to use a trailers on the jigs.

I also have a couple Bomber plugs and an Atom topwater.

I planned on using bait most of the season, since that's what I have had most luck on in the past on my few outings striper fishing. Although I have caught them on artifials, and a friend of mine landed a huge 40"+ a few years ago on a cheapo swim shad.

I prefer to fish with lures, since it keeps my head in the game and helps me focus blocking out the weather or boredom.

Any and all advice is welcome and appreciated.

Thanks,

Joe from Boston, MA
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-03-2016, 11:33 AM
Administrator
Pro Staff

Default Re: Stocking a beginner tackle bag

Joe, check your PMs.
Old 05-03-2016, 12:03 PM
Administrator
Pro Staff