Striped Bass Fishing Forums Forum banner

Visiting Newport need help

7K views 5 replies 2 participants last post by  JakeF 
#1 ·
I'll be in Newport from May 3 thru 10 on a vacation trip. Wifey says I can fish a couple of times. I have limited experience with Stripers, that being a club trip to Cape Cod last May/June. Caught a lot of schoolies and that was great fun. It would be great if any of you would share some information on access, times to fish and flies. I am not as nimble as I once was so rugged climbs or walks are tough. It would be great if we could arrange a hookup for a couple of hours to get the lay of the land but any info would be much appreciated. I can reciprocate with help pursuing steelhead in the Lake Erie tributaries if that's of any interest.

#2 ·
Welcome aboard. There are a couple different cities by that name along the east coast. From your Cape Cod reference is it safe to assume you're talking about Newport, RI? It's probably about 3 weeks early for any consistent striped bass action around Newport, RI. The spawning run up the Hudson is just now getting started and the water temp in Newport, RI is still in the 40's.

That said, check out Sachuest Point National Wildlife Refuge in Middletown. Pretty easy access in some spots and not a bad early season haunt.

Cheers,
Jake

#3 ·
Jake, thanks for the response. I kind of thought it might be a bit early but I'm travelling with my wife and brother-in-law. He's a great guy but different. I know that I'll need a break away and fishing is it.

How about timing? I've heard that 2 hrs before and after a high tide is my best bet. Any thoughts on this?

#4 ·